Oh to be like You

I heard one of my favorite worship songs tonight. It was a great reminder that despite all the stress, confusion, uncertainty, etc., God is there with us through it all. He died so that we can live. He is our hope. This song also awakens a strong, but often forgotten passion with me: a passion and desire to be like Christ and to know Him intimately.
“Too much to make sense of it all
I know that Your love breaks my fall
The scandal of grace,
You died in my place
So my soul will live
Oh to be like You
Give all I have just to know You
Jesus, there’s no one besides You
Forever the hope in my heart”

I love hearing things like this because I often feel lost. What am I even doing? Everything is constantly changing and everything seems so messy.
It’s so easy to get distracted really. Distracted by all these crazy things constantly thrown in front of us….. This boy, this job, this assignment, this problem, this decision, this friend, etc. And like the song says, it is TOO much too make sense of it all. It really is.
What I need to remember to do is never lose focus on the ultimate Lover of my soul. I know we all get off track. We become blind because of so much in front of us, but I can be confident and at peace in knowing that I have a God with me through this all. He loves me. He gives me peace and for this peace I owe Him it all.

20131112-231624.jpg

Leave a Reply

